Congratulations to our 2013 award winners!

The 2013 FedScoop 50 Award winners:

Golden Gov: Federal Executive of the Year Award

• Casey Coleman, CIO, GSA
• Margie Graves, deputy CIO, DHS
• Lt. Gen. Ronnie Hawkins Jr., director, DISA
• Gwynne Kostin, director, Digital Services Innovation Center, OCSIT, GSA
• Michael Krieger, acting CIO, Army/G-6
• Brig. Gen. Kevin Nally, CIO, USMC
• Todd Park, U.S. CTO
• Teri Takai, CIO, DOD
• Steven VanRoekel, U.S. CIO

Federal Leadership Award

• Maj. Gen. John Davis, senior military adviser for cyber to the undersecretary of defense (policy), DOD
• David DeVries, deputy CIO, information enterprise, DOD
• Deborah Diaz, deputy CIO, NASA
• Gary Galloway, deputy director, information assurance, State Department
• Richard Hale, deputy CIO, identity and information assurance, DOD
• Dr. Timothy Halton, chief, customer access and support division, NIST
• Sonny Hashmi, deputy CIO & CTO, GSA
• Barbara Hoffman, principal deputy CIO, Dept. of the Navy
• Rick Holgate, assistant director for science & technology & CIO, ATF, DOJ
• Dr. Alissa Johnson, DCIO, Office of Administration, EOP
• Lt. Gen. Susan Lawrence, former CIO/G-6, Army
• Marina Martin, CTO, VA
• Bernard Mazer, CIO, DOI
• Dr. David McClure, associate administrator, OSCIT, GSA
• Luke McCormack, CIO, DHS
• Wolf Tombe, CTO, CBP, DHS
• Keith Trippie, executive director, ESDO, DHS
• Peter Tseronis, CTO, Energy Department
• Lt. William Walders, CIO, Walter Reed National Military Medical Center

Federal Innovation of the Year

• GSA Link Smart Buildings Program

Fed IT Program of the Year

• Army Enterprise Management Decision Support

FedMentor of the Year

• Michael Daniel, special assistant to the president and cybersecurity coordinator, White House
• Xaiver Hughes, chief Innovation officer, DOL
• Joseph Jordan, administrator, FPP, OMB
• Donna Roy, NIEM executive director, Information Sharing Environment Office, DHS
• Daniel Tangherlini, administrator, GSA
• Dr. Michael Valivullah, CTO, NASS/USDA
• Sen. Mark Warner, D-Va.
• Denise Wofford, deputy director, CTO, Copyright Office, Library of Congress

Government Up and Comer

• Isaiah Joo, program analyst, Office of eDiplomacy, State Department
• Haley van Dyck, policy analyst, EOP
• Scott Renda, portfolio manager, policy analyst, EOP

Industry Leadership Award

• Jeffrey Ait, director, public sector North America, Good Technology
• Kay Kapoor, president, AT&T Federal
• Kenneth Kartsen, VP, federal sales, McAfee
• Lynn Martin, VP, public sector, VMware
• GiGi Schumm, VP & GM, public sector, Symantec
• Paul Smith, GM and VP, public sector operations, Red Hat
• Mark Weber, president, U.S. public sector, NetApp

Most Inspiring NewComer to Watch

• Federal Socialgov Community

Tech Champion of the Year

• Rep. Gerry Connolly, D-Va.


On Thursday, November 21st, 2013, the FedScoop 50 Awards Reception celebrates, honors and recognizes the achievements of 50 of the federal IT community’s brightest minds and innovators of 2013.

Cocktails, hors d’oeuvres, and music from White House DJ Donald Syriani as well as plenty of time to mingle with federal and industry VIPs will be enjoyed by all.

Voting Guidelines


The FedScoop 50 Award voting is now open! Make sure to vote and recognize your candidate for their achievements and contributions to the government IT community.

The 2013 FedScoop 50 Awards honor the best and the brightest who make the federal government more efficient and effective. This ceremony allows us to celebrate the outstanding achievements of our peers and acknowledge their tireless efforts to make a positive impact in the government community and in public service.

Important Deadlines:
• Nominations deadline: Sept. 27
• Voting: Oct. 8 to Nov. 4
• Winners announced: Nov. 21

• For Individuals: Accomplishments should have occurred between October 1, 2012 – October 1, 2013
• For Programs: Nominated programs must be current government programs


Golden Gov: Federal Executive of the Year: For the visionary leading government into a new technology landscape with innovative ideas and by inspiring others to get on board.
Federal Leadership Award: For the public sector principal helping government implement new technologies, strategies and IT programs.

Industry Leadership Award: For the private sector pioneer driving change in government IT with unique solutions.

IT Programs of the Year: The best examples of influential IT programs that have led to cost savings, efficiencies and partnerships between agencies.

Innovations of the Year: Technologies implemented this year that may have been unfathomable until recently.

Most Inspiring Newcomer to Watch: Young leaders who did exceptional IT work this year.

Tech Champion of the Year: For the leaders whose passion for tech made us all think outside of the box.

FedMentors of the Year: These busy leaders stepped up and took the time to share their very best practices, tips and career advice with the next generation of leaders.

Up and Comers: Government employees who made you think, “They’ll be running the show some day”


Intel Symantec
NetApp vmware ServiceNow_logo

Back to top