FedScoop honors the 2018 FedScoop 50

Here are 50 leaders who made a significant impact in their departments, organizations and the country this year.
The FedScoop 50 awards (FedScoop)

The past year has been a whirlwind of digital transformation in the federal technology community. And at the heart of the positive change are the brilliant leaders, innovative decision-makers and tireless workers dedicated to improving how the nation harnesses technology to better serve the American people.

Thursday night at the Hay-Adams Hotel, FedScoop and Scoop News Group honored the FedScoop 50: the top 50 leaders in the federal technology space who’ve made a lasting impact on the community, and the nation, in the past year.

FedScoop received more than 500,000 votes in September and October 2018, ultimately narrowing down more than 200 nominees to the top 50 leaders from the thousands of nominees in eight categories: Golden Gov, Federal Leadership, Cybersecurity Leader of the Year, Disruptor of the Year, Industry Leadership, Most Inspiring Up & Comer, Tech Champion of the Year, and Innovation of the Year.

Congratulations to the FedScoop 50 awardees and all of the more than 200 finalists who have made significant impacts in the past year.


This year’s recipients, alphabetically by each category, are:

Golden Gov: Executive of the Year

  • Sue Gordon, Principal Deputy Director of National Intelligence, ODNI
  • Margie Graves, Deputy Federal CIO, Executive Office of the President
  • Kamala Harris, Senator (D-Calif.)
  • Suzette Kent, Federal CIO, Executive Office of the President
  • Chris Krebs, Undersecretary, National Protection & Programs Directorate, DHS
  • Chris Liddell, Deputy Chief of Staff for Policy Coordination, Executive Office of the President
  • Bill Marion, Acting CIO/A6 & Chief, Information Dominance, Air Force
  • Gen. Paul Nakasone, Director, NSA & Commander, U.S. Cyber Command
  • Vice Adm. Nancy Norton, Director, DISA
  • John Wagner, Deputy Executive Assistant Commissioner, Office of Field Operations, CBP
  • Margaret Weichert, Deputy Director, OMB & Acting Director, OPM
  • Dr. John Zangardi, CIO, DHS

Federal Leadership

  • Rafaa Abdalla, Deputy Chief, Transformation Delivery Division, USCIS, DHS
  • Gundeep Ahluwalia, CIO, Dept. of Labor
  • Guy Cavallo, Deputy CIO, SBA
  • Lt. Gen. Bruce Crawford, CIO/G-6, U.S. Army
  • Dana Deasy, CIO, DOD
  • Gregory Garcia, Deputy CIO/G-6, U.S. Army 
  • Vicki Hildebrand, CIO, DOT
  • Carlene Ileto, Executive Director, Enterprise Business Management Office, DHS
  • Joe Klimavicz, CIO, DOJ
  • Frank Konieczny, CTO, U.S. Air Force
  • Matt Lira, Special Assistant to the President for Innovation Policy & Initiatives, Executive Office of the President
  • Gen. (Sel) Lorna Mahlock, CIO, U.S. Marine Corps
  • Nitin Naik, CTO, U.S. Census Bureau
  • Brig. Gen. (Ret.) Kevin Nally, CIO, U.S. Secret Service
  • Kelly Olson, Acting Director, TTS & Deputy Commissioner, FAS, GSA
  • Bobby Saxon, CTO, CCIIO, CMS
  • Grant Schneider, U.S. CISO, Executive Office of the President, OMB
  • Nancy Sieger, Acting Deputy CIO & Associate CIO, Applications Development, IRS
  • Lauren Thompson, Director, DOD/VA Interagency Program Office
  • Sean Torpey, Deputy Assistant Administrator for IT Services & Acting CIO, FAA
  • Gary Washington, CIO, USDA

Industry Leadership

  • Chris Balcik, VP of Federal, Samsung
  • Sean Berg, VP & GM, Global Governments and Critical Infrastructure, Forcepoint
  • Alexander Chapin, Executive Director, DOD/IC, McAfee
  • Ranil Dassanayaka, Director, Pre-Sales Architecture & Engineering, VMware
  • David Egts, Chief Technologist & Director North America Public Sector, Red Hat
  • Steve Harris, SVP & GM, Federal, Dell EMC
  • Don Maclean, Chief Cyber Security Technologist, DLT Solutions
  • Anthony Robbins, VP North America Public Sector, NVIDIA
  • Karen Terrell, VP of Public Sector, Adobe
  • Toni Townes-Whitley, President U.S. Regulated Industries, Microsoft
  • Chris Townsend, VP, Federal, Symantec

Cybersecurity Leader of the Year

  • Dan Commons, CISO & Director, Information Technology Risk Management, Federal Student Aid, Dept. of Education
  • John Felker, Director, National Cybersecurity & Communications Integration Center, DHS
  • Roger Greenwell, Chief, Cybersecurity, DISA

Disruptor of the Year

  • Gen. Garrett Yee, Acting Deputy CIO/G-6, U.S. Army

Tech Champion of the Year

  • Ashley Mahan, Acting Director, FedRAMP, GSA

Most Inspiring Up & Comer to Watch

  • Jordan Burris, Cybersecurity Adviser, OMB

Innovation of the Year

  • CXO Dashboards, USDA – Ted Kaouk(Chief Data Officer, USDA)
Billy Mitchell

Written by Billy Mitchell

Billy Mitchell is Senior Vice President and Executive Editor of Scoop News Group's editorial brands. He oversees operations, strategy and growth of SNG's award-winning tech publications, FedScoop, StateScoop, CyberScoop, EdScoop and DefenseScoop. After earning his journalism degree at Virginia Tech and winning the school's Excellence in Print Journalism award, Billy received his master's degree from New York University in magazine writing while interning at publications like Rolling Stone.

Latest Podcasts