Here are the 2016 FedScoop 50 winners

FedScoop honored the top 50 leaders in the government technology space who’ve made a lasting impact on the federal IT community Tuesday night at its annual FedScoop 50 Awards.

FedScoop honored the top 50 leaders in the government technology space who’ve made a lasting impact on the federal IT community Tuesday night at its annual FedScoop 50 Awards.

Hosted at the Hay-Adams Hotel penthouse overlooking the White House, the FedScoop 50 awards ceremony recognized the federal and industry leaders who have harnessed the power of technology to make significant contributions to the nation and government IT community in the last year.

“Each year, the FedScoop 50 Awards celebrate the outstanding achievements of the top leaders in the federal IT community,” said Goldy Kamali, FedScoop founder and CEO. “FedScoop 50 is a wonderful opportunity to extend recognition to the leaders that have paved the way in cybersecurity, technology advances and accelerating the IT modernization of government.”

FedScoop received more than 340,000 votes in the span of a month, narrowing down the top 50 leaders from the more than 1,000 who were nominated in nine categories.


This year’s recipients, alphabetically by each category, are:

Golden Gov: Executive of the Year

  • Soraya Correa, Chief Procurement Officer, DHS
  • LaVerne Council, CIO, Dept. of Veterans Affairs
  • Ann Dunkin, CIO, EPA
  • LTG Robert Ferrell, CIO, U.S. Army
  • Sue Gordon, Deputy Director, NGA
  • Margie Graves, Acting Deputy Administrator, Office of E-Government & IT, OMB
  • Maria Roat, CTO, DOT (now CIO of the Small Business Administration)
  • Adm. Mike Rogers, Director, NSA
  • Anne Rung, Administrator, Executive Office of the President
  • Lisa Schlosser, Acting CIO, OPM
  • Tony Scott, U.S. CIO, Executive Office of the President
  • David Shive, CIO, GSA
  • Denise Turner Roth, Administrator, GSA

Federal Leadership

  • Sonny Bhagowalia, CIO, Dept. of Treasury
  • David Bray, CIO, FCC
  • Sylvia Burns, CIO, Dept. of Interior
  • Jeffrey Chen, Chief Data Scientist , Dept. of Commerce
  • Mary Davie, Assistant Commissioner, Integrated Technology Services, GSA
  • Karen DeSalvo, National Coordinator for Health IT, ONC/HHS
  • Dave DeVries, Principle CIO, DOD
  • Gregory Garcia, CIO, G-6, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
  • Adrian Gardner, CIO, FEMA
  • Gina Garza, CIO, IRS
  • John Hale, Chief of Cloud Services, DISA
  • Joyce Hunter, Deputy CIO, USDA
  • Eric Hysen, Digital Services Executive Director, DHS
  • Rob Palmer, Deputy CTO, DHS
  • Renee Wynn, CIO, NASA

Industry Leadership 

  • John Borghard, SVP, Public Sector Sales, CA Technologies
  • Steve Harris, VP & GM, Federal, Dell
  • Chris Howard, VP, Federal, Nutanix
  • Kay Kapoor, President, Global Public Sector Solutions, AT&T
  • Ken Kartsen, VP, Federal, Intel Security
  • Vivek Kundra, EVP, Salesforce
  • Mike Maiorana, SVP, Public Sector Markets, Verizon
  • Larry Payne, SVP, US Public Sector, Cisco
  • Rob Potter, VP, Americas, Symantec
  • Michael Wilkerson, Sr. Director, Federal Digital Workspace & Mobility Sales, VMware

Disruptor of the Year 

  • Damon Davis, Director, IDEA Lab, HHS
  • Gwynne Kostin, Sr. Adviser, Ready to Govern, Partnership for Public Service
  • Erie Meyer, Founder, USDS
  • John Owens II, CIO, USPTO
  • Robin Thottungal, Chief Data Scientist, EPA

Cybersecurity Leader of the Year

  • Jeff Eisensmith, CISO, DHS
  • Shaun Khalfan, Chief Systems Security Officer, CBP/DHS
  • Gregory Touhill, Deputy Assistant Secretary of Cybersecurity & Communications, DHS

Tech Champion of the Year

  • Sarah Fahden, Associate Chief, Verification Program, Systems Development Division, DHS

Most Inspiring Up & Comers To Watch

  • Andrew Stroup, Head of Tech & Product, Presidential Innovation Fellows
  • Ashley Mahan, Cloud Evangelist, FedRAMP

Tech Program of the Year

  • Commerce Data Academy – Dept. of Commerce

Innovation of the Year

  • Commerce Data Usability Program – Dept. of Commerce
Billy Mitchell

Written by Billy Mitchell

Billy Mitchell is Senior Vice President and Executive Editor of Scoop News Group's editorial brands. He oversees operations, strategy and growth of SNG's award-winning tech publications, FedScoop, StateScoop, CyberScoop, EdScoop and DefenseScoop. After earning his degree at Virginia Tech and winning the school's Excellence in Print Journalism award, Billy received his master's degree from New York University in magazine writing.

Latest Podcasts