Four major cities upload data to

2012_08_citiesdatagov Source:

Four major cities have added data to the federal government’s platform.

San Francisco, Seattle, Chicago and New York all uploaded data to, the first endeavor of the G7 (Group of 7) big city chief information officers who are informally collaborating on issues of mutual concern.


Standardized formats are not required to post data to, but when jurisdictions start to collaborate on shared issues, some standardization will occur in order to maximize the usefulness of the data.

An internal pledge with the full support of the G7 promises that this achievement is just the beginning, according to reports. The seven members of the G7 include Boston, Chicago, Los Angeles, New York, Philadelphia, San Francisco and Seattle.

Latest Podcasts