FedScoop 50: Celebrating 2014’s leaders in federal IT

2014_11_FS50 From left to right: Col. Bobby Saxon, division chief, U.S. Army G-3/5/7; Goldy Kamali, CEO, FedScoop; Wolf Tombe, CTO, CBP/DHS; Alissa Johnson, deputy CIO, Executive Office of the President; and David Bray, CIO, FCC. (Credit: FedScoop)

As the calendar year soon comes to a close, FedScoop celebrated federal IT excellence Thursday night, announcing its 2014 FedScoop 50 award winners throughout government and industry.

After parsing more than 50,000 votes on thousands of nominees, FedScoop honored the 50 most renowned federal IT champions over the past year in front of hundreds of government and industry leaders gathered at the Hay-Adams rooftop, with gorgeous views of the White House, the Washington Monument and the southern Washington, D.C., skyline. Amid a night of decadence, awards were given in seven categories, starting with the most prestigious Golden Gov award and touching all aspects of the federal IT community, from Disruptor of the Year and Cybersecurity Leader of the Year to Industry Leadership and Most Inspiring Up & Comer.


A huge FedScoop congratulations goes out to all the award winners and finalists, and thanks for making 2014 an amazing year in federal IT.

The 2014 FedScoop 50 are:

Golden Gov — For the visionary leading government into a new technology landscape with innovative ideas and by inspiring others to get on board.

  • Terry Halvorsen, acting CIO, Department of Defense
  • Sonny Hashmi, CIO, General Services Administration
  • Frank Baitman, CIO, Department of Health and Human Services
  • David Bennett, CIO, Defense Information Systems Agency
  • Luke McCormack, CIO, Department of Homeland Security
  • Michael Daniel, special assistant to the president and cybersecurity coordinator, Executive Office of the President
  • Mike Krieger (Ret.), deputy CIO G/6, U.S. Army
  • Grant Schneider, deputy director for information management and CIO, Defense Intelligence Agency
  • Chad Sheridan, CIO, Risk Management Agency/Department of Agriculture

Federal Leadership — For the visionary leading government into a new technology landscape with innovative ideas and by inspiring others to get on board.

  • David Bray, CIO, Federal Communications Commission
  • Deborah Diaz, CTO for IT, NASA
  • John Edgar, vice president of information technology, U.S. Postal Service
  • Margie Graves, deputy CIO, DHS
  • Alissa Johnson, deputy CIO, Executive Office of the President
  • Marina Martin, CTO, Department of Veterans Affairs
  • Richard McKinney, CIO, Department of Transportation
  • Eric Nelson, director, Office of eDiplomacy, Department of State
  • Chuck Riddle, CIO, Government Printing Office
  • Col. Bobby Saxon, Division Chief, U.S. Army G-3/5/7
  • Nick Sinai, deputy CTO, OSTP, Executive Office of the President
  • Bryan Sivak, CTO, HHS
  • Wolf Tombe, CTO, U.S. Customs and Border Protection/DHS
  • Jack Wilmer, deputy CTO, Enterprise Services, DISA
  • Richard Young, director of IT policy & compliance, DHS

Industry Leadership — For the private sector pioneer driving change in government IT with unique solutions.

  • Teresa Carlson, vice president of global public sector, Amazon Web Services
  • Marilyn Crouther, senior vice president and general manager, HP Enterprise Services
  • Maj. Gen. John Custer (retired), director, Federal Strategic Missions & Programs, EMC
  • Kay Kapoor, president, AT&T Government Solutions
  • Jason Kimrey, area director of federal sales, Intel
  • Curt Kolcun, vice president of U.S. public sector, Microsoft
  • Thomas Romeo, president, Maximus Federal

Disruptor of the Year — Leading innovators not afraid to challenge conventional wisdom and shake up the status quo.

  • Ben Balter, government evangelist, GitHub
  • Mikey Dickerson, administrator, U.S. Digital Service, Executive Office of the President
  • Ronald MacKenzie, chief of business applications branch, RMA/USDA
  • Marsha Mullins, chief, JSJ6 DDC51/Joint Fires Division/DOD

Cybersecurity Leader of the Year —For the leader paving the way in cybersecurity innovation.

  • Greg Maier, CISO, Transportation Security Administration
  • Roberta Stempfley, deputy assistant secretary for cybersecurity strategy and emergency communications, DHS

Most Inspiring Up & Comer — Young leaders who did exceptional IT work this year and made you think, “They’ll be running the show someday.”

  • Mika Cross, workplace transformation strategist, Office of Personnel Management
  • Dr. Neil Evans, co-director of connected health, VA
  • Jennifer Gray, lead cloud enterprise architect, Office of Strategic Planning & Governance, HHS
  • Erie Meyer, administrator, U.S. Digital Service, Executive Office of the President

Tech Program of the Year — The best examples of influential tech programs that have led to cost savings, efficiencies and partnerships between agencies.

  • Enterprise Management Decision Support, U.S. Army G-3/5/7

Innovation of the Year — Technologies implemented this year that may have been unfathomable until recently.

  • Finder, DHS Science & Technology Directorate & NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory

FedMentor of the Year- These busy leaders stepped up and took the time to share their very best practices, tips and career advice with the next generation of leaders.

  • Flip Anderson, acting associate CIO, Information Management Resources/USDA
  • COL Ken Blakely, commander, Command and Control Support Agency, U.S. Army G-3/5/7
  • Jonathan Cantor, deputy chief privacy officer, DHS
  • Camsie McAdams, acting director, Office of STEM, Department of Education
  • Ellen McCarthy, COO, National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency

Tech Champion of the Year- For the leaders whose passion for tech made us all think outside of the box.

  • Hillary Hartley, deputy executive director, 18F, GSA
  • Robert Vojtik, director, End User Services Division, TSA/DHS

Billy Mitchell

Written by Billy Mitchell

Billy Mitchell is Senior Vice President and Executive Editor of Scoop News Group's editorial brands. He oversees operations, strategy and growth of SNG's award-winning tech publications, FedScoop, StateScoop, CyberScoop, EdScoop and DefenseScoop. After earning his degree at Virginia Tech and winning the school's Excellence in Print Journalism award, Billy received his master's degree from New York University in magazine writing.

Latest Podcasts