White House Creates Government Accountability Board

As part of its Campaign to Cut Waste Initiative, the Obama Administration today announced the creation of the Government Accountability and Transparency Board that will focus on making government spending more accessible and transparent for the American people.

“Cutting Waste, fraud and abuse has been something Washington has talked about for decades, but now more than ever, what the American people need is action,” said Vice President Joe Biden. “That’s why we are tapping the top leaders across government who have been most aggressive in cracking down on waste to drive change and make the government work for our nation’s families. With our nation’s top watchdogs at the helm, we will deliver the kind of transparency and accountability for Federal spending that the public deserves and expects.”

Today, the President announced the appointment of the following federal officials to the board:

  • Earl E. Devaney – Chairman, Recovery Accountability and Transparency Board
  • Ashton B. Carter – Under Secretary of Defense for Acquisition, Technology & Logistics, Department of Defense
  • W. Scott Gould – Deputy Secretary of Veterans Affairs, Department of Veterans Affairs
  • Allison C. Lerner – Inspector General, National Science Foundation
  • Daniel R. Levinson – Inspector General, Department of Health and Human Services
  • Ellen Murray – Assistant Secretary for Financial Resources and Chief Financial Officer, Department of Health and Human Services
  • Calvin L. Scovel III – Inspector General, Department of Transportation
  • Kathleen S. Tighe – Inspector General, Department of Education
  • Daniel I. Werfel – Controller, Office of Management and Budget
  • David C. Williams – Inspector General, United States Postal Service
  • Neal S. Wolin – Deputy Secretary of the Treasury, Department of the Treasury

Latest Podcasts