Top 50 leaders from federal tech community honored at FedScoop 50 awards

​After another unforgettable year in the federal IT community, FedScoop hosted its annual FedScoop 50 awards Thursday night to honor Washington's technology leaders​.

FedScoop founder and CEO Goldy Kamali and White House technology advisor Todd Park.

FedScoop honored Washington’s top technology leaders and innovators during its elite FedScoop 50 awards Thursday night.

The ceremony, held atop the Hay-Adams Hotel overlooking the White House, gathered more than 200 government and industry leaders from across the country to recognize the extraordinary achievements they made in 2015. FedScoop celebrated leaders and programs in nine categories that touched all aspects of the federal IT community — including Disruptors of the Year, Cybersecurity Leadership, Most Inspiring Up & Comer, Federal Leadership, Industry Leadership, Tech Champion, Tech Program, Innovation of the Year and the most prestigious Golden Gov award.

“As a team we are very lucky because every single day, whether it be for a story, an event, through FedScoop TV or radio, we have the privilege of working with the most talented and innovative people in the country,” Scoop News Group founder and CEO Goldy Kamali said before presenting the awards. “We are thankful because we learn from you and are inspired by you. The FedScoop 50 awards were created as an opportunity to recognize the extraordinary achievements of leaders in our community that are doing big things that impact all of us.”


The federal IT community this year voted with ferocity, casting more than 250,000 votes for the nominees. FedScoop counted the votes to determine the winners in each category.

The 2015 winners of the FedScoop 50 awards are:

Golden Gov: Federal Executive of the Year

  • Terry Halvorsen, chief information officer, Department of Defense
  • Lt. Gen. Robert Ferrell, CIO, Army
  • Megan Smith, U.S. CTO, Executive Office of the President
  • Denise Turner Roth, administrator, General Services Administration
  • Frank Baitman, CIO, Department of Health and Human Services
  • Margie Graves, principal deputy CIO, Department of Homeland Security
  • Tony Scott, U.S. CIO, Executive Office of the President
  • Wolf Tombe, chief technology officer, Customs & Border Protection, DHS
  • Steve Cooper, CIO, Commerce Department
  • Adm. Michael Rogers, director, National Security Agency
  • LaVerne Council, CIO, Department of Veterans Affairs
  • Rob Foster, CIO, Navy

Federal Leadership

  • David Bennett, CIO, Defense Information Systems Agency
  • DJ Patil, chief data scientist, Executive Office of the President
  • Luke McCormack, CIO, DHS
  • Beth Cobert, director, OPM
  • David DeVries, principal deputy CIO, DOD
  • Sonny Bhagowalia, CIO, Treasury Department
  • David Bray, CIO, Federal Communications Commission
  • Phaedra Chrousos, associate administrator, OCSIT/18F, GSA
  • Ann Dunkin, CIO, Environmental Protection Agency
  • Frank Konieczny, CTO, Air Force
  • Gwynne Kostin, director digital government, Office of Citizen Services and Innovative Technologies, GSA
  • Maria Roat, CTO, DOT
  • Col. Bobby Saxon, division chief & program director, U.S. Army G-3/5/7
  • David Shive, CIO, GSA
  • Susan McHugh-Polley, executive director, field operations, VA
  • Mark Schwartz, CIO, Citizenship and Immigration Services, DHS
  • Kevin Deeley, deputy CIO, Department of Justice
  • Richard McKinney, CIO, Department of Transportation
  • Donna Dodson, chief cybersecurity adviser, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Industry Leadership

  • Venkatapathi “PV” Puvvada, president, Unisys Federal Systems
  • Mike Maiorana, senior vice president, public sector, Verizon Enterprise Solutions
  • Rob Potter, vice president, public sector, Symantec
  • Brian Strosser, executive vice president, sales and marketing, DLT Solutions
  • Michael Tanner, president & CEO, Hitachi Data Systems Federal
  • Anthony Robbins, VP, federal, Brocade
  • Barry Leffew, VP, public sector, Adobe
  • Bill Rowan, VP, federal, VMware
  • Greg Myers, VP, U.S. federal sales, Microsoft

Disruptor of the Year

  • Jeff Blank, technical director, NSA
  • Greg Godbout, CTO, EPA
  • U.S. Digital Service team
  • Todd Park, technology adviser, Executive Office of the President

Cybersecurity Leader of the Year

  • Andy Ozment, lead, National Cybersecurity Communications Integration Center, DHS
  • Michael Daniel, special assistant to the president and cybersecurity coordinator, Executive Office of the President

Most Inspiring Up & Comer

  • Tyrone Grandison, deputy chief data officer, Commerce Department

Tech Champion of the Year

  • Robert Klopp, deputy commissioner of systems & CIO, Social Security Administration

Tech Program of the Year

  • Mobility Initiative 5 (MI-5), DHS

Innovation of the Year

  • CitySDK, Census Bureau

Latest Podcasts