Senate approves NRC nomination

The Senate approved Allison Macfarlane to be the next chair of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission.

Macfarlane, a geologist and professor at George Mason University, will replace Gregy Jaczko, who announced his resignation last month.

Macfarlane told a Senate panel this month that she will work to restore collegiality at the NRC. She also pledged to ensure “a respectful working environment” at the agency, which oversees safety at the nation’s 104 commercial nuclear reactors. Her term runs through June 2013.

Latest Podcasts