FedScoop 50 nominees announced, voting now open

2013_10_fed50We’re excited to announce the 2013 nominees for our annual FedScoop 50 Awards, which honor 50 of the most talented and innovative leaders in the federal IT sector.

During increasingly tough times when the government faces tighter budgets and higher demands, the federal IT leaders help agencies work smarter and more efficiently. With the continued government shutdown, it becomes even more important to recognize those who hold key roles in federal technology.

This year, we received more than 120 candidates in nine categories. Public voting, found here, is open through Nov. 4, 2013. Honorees will be announced at a ceremony Nov. 21.

Below, are the following nominations in all the nine categories. Make sure to share this article to support your nominee and congratulate all the candidates of the 2013 FedScoop 50!


Golden Gov: Federal Executive of the Year

Frank Baitman, CIO, HHS

Rob Carey, principal deputy CIO, DOD

Casey Coleman, CIO, GSA


Margie Graves, deputy CIO, DHS

Terry Halvorsen, CIO, Department of the Navy

Lt. Gen. Ronnie Hawkins, director, DISA

Gwynne Kostin, director, Digital Services Innovation Center, OCSIT, GSA

Michael Krieger, acting CIO, Army/G-6


Brig. Gen. Kevin Nally, CIO, USMC

Todd Park, U.S. CTO, Executive Office of the President

Charles H. Romine, Ph.D., director, IT, NIST

Larry Sweet, CIO, NASA

Simon Szykman, CIO, Commerce Department


Teri Takai, CIO, DOD

Steven VanRoekel, U.S. CIO, Executive Office of the President


Federal Leadership Award

Thomas Bayer, CIO, SEC


Lt. Gen. Mark Bowman, director C4/cyber, CIO, Joint Staff J6/CIO, Pentagon

Maj. Gen. John Davis, senior military adviser for cyber to the undersecretary of defense (policy), DOD

Charles De Sanno, executive director, systems engineering, Department of Veterans Affairs

Dave DeVries, deputy CIO for information enterprise, DOD

Deborah Diaz, deputy CIO, NASA


Martha A. Dorris, deputy associate administrator, OCSIT, GSA

Gary Galloway, deputy director, information assurance, State Department

Richard Hale, deputy CIO, identity and information assurance, DOD

Dr. Timothy Halton, chief, customer access and support division, NIST

Dr. Danny Harris, CIO, Education Department


Sonny Hashmi, deputy CIO & CTO, GSA

Barbara Hoffman, principal deputy CIO, Department of the Navy

Rick Holgate, assistant director for science & technology & CIO, ATF, DOJ

Travis Howerton, CTO, NNSA

Dr. Alissa Johnson, DCIO, Office of Administration, Executive Office of the President


Shawn Kingsberry, CIO, Recovery, Accountability & Transparency Board

Debbie Kirkland, senior cost analyst, Army

Lt. Gen. Susan Lawrence, former CIO/G-6, Army

Simon Y. Liu, director, National Agricultural Library, USDA

Raphael Majma, senior adviser to U.S. CTO, OSTP, Executive Office of the President


Marina Martin, CTO, Department of Veterans Affairs

Bernard J. Mazer CIO, Interior Department

David McClure, associate administrator, OCSIT, GSA

Luke McCormack, CIO, DOJ

Richard McKinney, CIO, DOT


Ronald D. Nixon, chief warrant officer/senior warrant, enterprise management division, Army Cyberspace and Integration Center

Bajinder Paul, CIO, FTC

Susannah Schiller, DCIO, NIST

Neal Shelley, division chief, Army data center consolidation plan, Army

Wolf Tombe, CTO, CBP, DHS


Keith Trippie, executive director, ESDO, DHS

Pete Tseronis, CTO, DOE

Lt. William J. Walders, CIO, Walter Reed National Military Medical Center


Industry Leadership Award


Jeffrey Ait, director, public sector North America, Good Technology

Nigel Ballard, director, federal marketing, Intel

John Borghard, SVP, public sector, CA Technologies

Teresa Carlson, VP global public sector, Amazon Web Services

Bob Gourley, publisher,


Kay Kapoor, president, AT&T Federal

Ken Kartsen, VP, federal sales, McAfee

Todd Khozein, partner, SecondMuse

Curt Kolcun, VP, Microsoft, U.S. public sector

Michael Maiorana, senior vice president, public sector markets, Verizon Enterprise Solutions


Lynn Martin, VP, VMware public sector

Gigi Schumm, VP and GM, Symantec public sector

Tom Simmons, VP, U.S. public sector, Citrix Systems

Paul Smith, GM and VP, public sector operations, Red Hat

Mark Weber, president, NetApp U.S. public sector


Troy West, VP & GM, U.S. public enterprise solutions, Dell


IT Programs of the Year

BusinessUSA, Commerce Department

DC-Net, Office of the CTO, District of Columbia


Distributed Application Virtual Environment (DAVE), FBI

Enterprise Email Migration, Army

Enterprise Management Decision Support (EMDS) G-3/5/7 DAMO-FME, Army

Financial and Business Management System, Interior Department

Ft. Bragg Enterprise Center, Army


DHS NextGen/myHomeland, DHS

Search Tool, Federal Laboratory Consortium

State Broadband Initiative, NTIA, Commerce Department

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers – IT, Army



Innovations of the Year

CyberGIS, diplomatic innovation division, State Department

eMail Enterprise Records and Document Management System (eERDMS), Interior Department

GSALink, Smart Buildings Program, GSA



PCAT, OCIO, IT & Security, NASA

Responsive Design, USA.Gov, OCSIT, GSA

Search Tool, Federal Laboratory Consortium

The Current, knowledge leadership division, State Department

Unified Messaging System Cloud Based Email, Interior Department



Most Inspiring Newcomer to Watch

Matt B. Chessen, international relations officer/project manager, knowledge leadership division, State Department

Moses L. Mendoza, national security systems operations lead, Office of IT/CBP, DHS

Jessica Milcetich, social media strategist, GSA


Russell O’Neill, senior IT project manager,, GSA

Jonathan Rubin, First Fridays, program manager, GSA

Lee Vorthman, CTO, civilian agencies, NetApp

Garth White, IT program manager, Office of Science & Technology, DHS

SocialGov, Federal Social Media Community of Practice



Tech Champion of the Year

David Bennett, CIO, DISA

Rep. Gerald E. “Gerry” Connolly, 11th District of Virginia

Tarrazzia Martin, director, Hudnet, HUD


Dr. Sasi Pillay, CTO for IT, NASA

Thomas Sasala, CTO, Army Information Technology Agency, Army

Bryan Sivak, CTO, HHS


FedMentors of the Year


Michael Daniel, special assistant to the president and cybersecurity coordinator, Executive Office of the President

Mark Day, acting deputy assistant commissioner, Integrated Technology Services, GSA

Rowan Gould, deputy director, Fish & Wildlife Services, Interior Department

Xavier Hughes, chief innovation officer, Labor Department

Joe Jordan, administrator, FPP, OMB, Executive Office of the President


David Muntz, former principal deputy national coordinator, HHS

Dan Risacher, developer advocate, OCIO, Defense Department

Donna Roy, executive director, NIEM, Information Sharing Environment Office, DHS

Hemanth Setty, CTO, Recovery Accountability & Transparency Board

Paul Sforza, senior adviser/director, IT strategy & governance, Treasury Department


Dan Tangherlini, administrator, GSA

Dr. Michael Valivullah, CTO, NASS/USDA

Sen. Mark R. Warner, Commonwealth of Virginia

Denise Wofford, deputy director, CTO, Copyright Office, Library of Congress

Neal Ziring, technical director, information assurance directorate, National Security Agency



Up and Comers

Desmond Brown, small business director, OSDBU, OPM

Isaiah Joo, program analyst, Office of eDiplomacy, State Department

Katie M. Griffin, acting policy team lead, HQDA CIO/G-6, Army


Kirk McElwain, Web manager, SBA

Paul M. Miller, unified capabilities project lead HQDA, CIO/G-6, Army

Phuong Nguyen, team lead for mission system compliance & policy, TSA, DHS

Scott Renda, portfolio manager, policy analyst, Executive Office of the President

Haley Van Dyck, policy analyst, Executive Office of the President

Latest Podcasts